//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Are there specific books that a store should carry?

So, I was at Barnes and Noble hanging out this weekend and I planned on picking up a birthday present for my friends. This friend likes Virginia Woolf, so I figured I’d send get her something by Elizabeth Bowen. When the modern library compiled their list of the best novels of the 20th century, Bowen made the cut. The Guardian mentions her work in their lists of 1,000 novels to read before one dies. Time magazine included her work in their top 100 novels from 1923-2005.

Yet, three Barnes and Noble locations near me did not carry it. Of course, I could order without much difficulty. Still, should I be judgmental? Is it a cultural issue when bookstores don’t carry some real classics?

About 20smtg

Early 20s--Working for a few years after college, including part-time freelance writing. Hope to go back to school at some point, and become a scholar.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

